Defying Stereotypes

defyingstereotypes

Stereotypes, just by thinking about them, I get a headache. What the hell have we done to ourselves? Well, it’s just a goddamn mess my friends.

By definition: “In social psychology, a stereotype is a thought that can be adopted about specific types of individuals or certain ways of doing things. These thoughts or beliefs may or may not accurately reflect reality. However, this is only a fundamental psychological definition of a stereotype. Within psychology and spanning across other disciplines, there are different conceptualizations and theories of stereotyping that provide their own expanded definition. Some of these definitions share commonalities, though each one may also harbor unique aspects that may contradict the others”. (Source: Wikipedia)

Have you ever felt that when you’re the new folk in some workplace – to set an example – you automatically set your brain to dismiss any kind of comments that may make you feel that you’ve been classified as “this” all because of certain traits of your personality and way of being. Well, that happens to me ALL THE GOD DAMN TIME! Thanks!

Folks, long story short, even though I’m not as flamboyant as some people think I am, I’m kind of manly to be gay. For me, it’s really tough to be me, it’s a rollercoaster ride.

635940263255636955-676010678_sex-education-gender-stereotypes

For most of my young life, I have been dealing with “fitting into the norms”, because if I opted to do me, my way and under my rules, well… good luck with that! No one said that life will be easy, has its ups and its downs. But damn, sometimes people do need a break from certain things.

Lately, in many places all over the world we’ve all witnessed how great defying stereotypes can be and how great embracing the concept of individuality can be. However, in some other places, like the Dominican Republic, that is not as easy as we may think it is. Regardless of how long you try to be accepted or try to live your life as your true self, in this beautiful and paradisiac piece of land, there’s always a bunch of people ready to sneak in their two unnecessary cents and attempt to tell you how the hell you’re supposed to be living your life.

In a way to continue my argument, we all face our respective society’s rules. And although we hate them, we got to fight them. Nowadays, most millennials are more into accepting differences in between people and what makes them unique and special than just trying to formally fit in into what society says its right or wrong, and most importantly, we’re fighting to live our lives the way we want, with no judgment.

heidi_halvorson_stereotypes

Our differences make us special. And that’s what should matter all the time, however, that rule does not apply everywhere, anytime, anyhow, but we’ve got to adapt to ourselves to our environment so we can play the game and survive along the way. To me, stereotypes per se, have little to no impact on how I interact with people. Just to be clear, I’m a nice guy and I keep it cool and collected, however, I try to chill as much as possible.

In the end, let’s accept people for who they are, what they are and what they can bring to your life – positive or negative, it doesn’t really matter that much. We’re all different! And that’s not changing anyway.

Leave a Reply

